I’m still on a hiatus but . . . .

I’ve gotten more and more wrapped up in Marvel, happily reading and writing crossover stories with spidey and fantastic four, shipping Pepperoni like no ones business, and even getting into the hulk a little bit.  During all this I decide (not for the first time) that I want to try reading american comics again and while it hasn’t been a success ( I think I need a guide) I’ve learned a lot more than I knew before

1. American comics have multiple artists and authors, which adds to some of the confusion in their continuity.
2. you can start in on the middle to certain plot arcs

As a manga reader the idea of picking up on one piece 700 chapters in is an appalling  concept but I’ve been assured that I can start reading the newer arc of xmen and don’t need to start in the pre-Phoenix days.  I’ll admit, the idea of reading x-men without Jean is pretty foreign to me.  Go figure, most people don’t like jean but do like scott.  I have to be opposite, and deal with dear old scottie-o.

If I do start a young child on xmen though I’m going to tell them not to look up anything about wolverine’s past, since piecing it together was apparently part of what made him most popular.  I doubt this will be possible, but I can try for a little while.

I’m really frustrated with the multiple artists and the fact the large crews put the comics together.  I really like the uniform art styles for each series and the continuity from panel to panel.  Reading many american comics feels rushed and jerky, like they’re trying to get as much in in as few pages as they possibly can.  Mangakas put out chapters by the week so it makes sense to stretch each scene out, beyond just the flow of it but I really feel it makes you feel more like you’re reading a real book or story as opposed to some half baked picture book.

Some of the non-marvel/DC american comics I’ve read do it more in the Mangaka way but I’ve yet to find an xmen or the like done this way.

^ this is how I feel when frustratingly trying to figure all this out.

Meanwhile I hop back on here from time to time and see my post from before I watched avengers and feel like such a little poser.  Its all made worse when I remember how much I didn’t enjoy fantastic 4, spiderman, hulk, etc and when I watched them again now they’re like the best poorly written few hours of my summer.  This I do not understand.  Eventually my avengers and general marvel hype will die down again and I’ll be back to the little x-fan I was before.  That is- until Iron man 3, Avengers 2, Thor 2, and Captain America 2 and the currently untitled 2014 marvel studios movie.  I can’t decide if I want a black widow movie or a Mark Ruffalo hulk more!

Alas alas, I’m off to tumble and write!

psssssst, I’ll probably get more active again when school starts back up and my new roomie Natalie and I cook awesome things in our fantastically clean kitchen that’s only the two of us! Plus, we’re both art majors so expect great crafts to be born and I’ll share them with you.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

