Chocolate Kitty Crisp Cookie


Today I had the worst hankering for chocolate (and cheese doritos with Spinach dip but that’s another story) so out I pulled my cute little kitty cookie cutter and sat down to make some cookies.  I don’t have a sugar cookie recipe memorized so I used the Best Ever Chocolate Cutout Cookies recipe from All Recipes as a base and flew from there

So here’s my Recipe

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (plus about 2/3 cup more to make it the right consistency)
  • 3/4 cup Nestle Rich Milk Chocolate Hot coco mix
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 2 egg

I’ve tossed hot coco mix in my cookies a lot now and I’m not sure exactly the difference between cocoa and this except that cocoas a fair bit more bitter and the mixes that go with water probably have condensed milk in them.  I love adding flavored coca because it’s an epic way to get that minty tinge to my cookies in the easiest way possible.  extracts never seem taste-able to me when i bake them in. [/sadness]

I basically followed the instructions on allrecipes but because I made some changes I did a couple of things different.  I mixed the dry together then added in 1 egg and both sticks of butter.  I hate microwaving my butter and I never think ahead to soften it so I just cut it into   1 tbs slices and used to knifes to make it all crumbly.
It was at this point that I realized that  there wasn’t enough liquid and my dough wasn’t sticking properly so I added a second egg and mixed it in with the knives.  Well guess what, now it was too sticky so I gestimated with flour until it was about right.  (if you’ve made cookies before I’m sure you know what I’m talking about.  You can form a ball but it doesn’t stick all over your fingers.)

Finally! my dough was done! Turning the oven on I realized–I still need to refrigerate it.  Impatient college student that I was I only let it sit in the fridge for an hour before pulling out my roomie’s awesome rollpat.  I’m always skeptical about my counter’s cleanliness and sticking is always a problem but this awesome little tool solves almost all my problems.  Cookies I’ve made in the past didn’t stick to it at all but this troublesome dough still needed to have flour put down first.  Though I did notice when I refrigerated it longer it stuck less. . . .  hmmm. ¬_____¬

Well I cut my Kitties out pretty thin, like maybe half a centimeter, give or take, and popped them into the oven at 375F for 11 minutes.  The kitties browned very little on the edges and were still a little soft when I pulled them out but hardened within 5-7 minutes of cooling.  So If you try to take them off the pan fresh like chocolate chips the little boogers will fall apart on you but if you wait too long (like I did for one batch, whoops) you’ll be chiseling the suckers off.

The recipe made about a bajillion kitties.  but seriously I think I pulled out about 5-6 trays of 9 kitties.  No kitties were eaten during the process at all, I swear *shift eyes*


Put Concisely: 

  • 1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour (plus about 2/3 cup more to make it the right consistency)
  • 3/4 cup Nestle Rich Milk Chocolate Hot coco mix
  • 1 1/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/8 teaspoon salt
  • 2 sticks butter
  • 1 1/4 cups white sugar
  • 2 egg
    ——
  • mix dry ingrediants
  • add eggs
  • add more flour until it’s the right consistency
  •  refrigerate for 1-2 hours
  • roll out about .5 cm thick and cut into kitty shape (or something else if you don’t own an awesome kitty cutter but I can’t guarantee they’ll taste good if they’re puppies and teddy bears)
  • bake in oven at 375 for 11 minutes or until edges are just barely darker than the rest of the cookie
  • let cool on cookie sheet for 2-3 minutes before placing of drying rack
  • share kitties with all your friends!

Makes about 40 kittys.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Kitty Crisp Cookie

  1. Eugenius says:

    Toy poodle. It looked like a toy poodle. Not a pony, a poodle.

Leave a Reply

