is it karma that my roommates always out when I watch something scary?

Oh dear goodness time has just FLOWN by.  It seemed just last week that I was procrastinating buying textbooks and now its almost midterms.  Which speaking of which, is making my day horrendous. Today marked my first tests of the semester.  Both non art classes have their tests today: American Civilization II and Astronomy (I don’t dislike being at a liberal arts school at all sometimes [/sarcasm])
Lets walk through my least favorite weekend to date.
Saturday:
I wake up around 10 and start cooking my beans.  I bought black beans and had them soaking over night and I’m super excited.  I’ve never made beans before! I don’t think I’ve even bought them canned before.  I’m not a bean virgin though.  So the question calls to be asked, “how have I never made beans before?!”.  I still haven’t solved this problem but  here’s what i learned about beans, well black beans to be specific:

1. I like them alot

2. They make a really nice indigo cloth dye.  I used my boiled bean water to dye some white hot pads and they just need to be washed proper now to see how well it stains.
3.  The insides are white and crunchy like radishes before they’re cooked. Apparently they’re dangerous in this state though . . .  so why do we use beans in preschool craft projects? I mean, I stuck a pebble up my nose during reading time in Pre-K, so what’s to keep a kid from gulping down beans? My solution is not to take the beans away though, but to make the classes smaller.  I never stuck pebbles up my nose when my mom was watching me.  Only during reading time.
4. Beans do nothing.   I keep waiting for them to blow up or grow or something fun like that but they just sit there and dye their water until you can’t see them at the bottom of the pot.  This realization really depressed me.

5. There’s a sweet spot to boil them to.  Mine are best for mushing in refried beans, but they’re still okay for freezing and eating with pasta.
6. don’t freeze in a tubber ware tub.  Yeah, this is a duh, but I wanted to rush off to the art villiage and just froze the suckers. Now I’ve got a large bean cube that I just sculpt off a chunk cook.

Well, concluding my bean episode I rush on over to the art village to finally make some prints.  I mix up my inks and work hard to get the texture I want and then slowly figure out the thickness I actually need.  Well when all this is done and figured out I’m too tired to cut my paper and make everything for ensuring it lines up with the other plates.  So I wrap up my ink in some plastic wrap and put it away for another day.
 My ink is kind of this colour
Now I LOVE LOVE LOVE this colour, but It’s wrong.
>:| I need this colour
see my problem? Well I’m going to make some tweaks to it when I get the chance, but I might just ha

ve to sacrifice for the colour I love more.  No loss really.  I’m not much of a stickler on this project, or most 2D works I’ve ever made.  Except for my Dragon mosaic.  I was annoyingly anal about that.

Well, I walk out of the studio, totally pooped and ready to curl up (in the fetal position) with my Astronomy notes back in my apt.

ITS RAINING.

I bolt through the rain to the painting building

ITS LOCKED

running through the art village my shoes get muddy and soaked, as well as the rest of me.  But I made it. From the main building I dart across campus back to my apartment that’s conveniently located on the furthest possible end of campus from the art village. They rationalize that this is the better location for housing because it’s closer to the church and the Science and English buildings.  Meanwhile all the housing on the other side of campus where the cool people hang out is getting closed down.  I’d rather live next to the theatre than the science building any day of the week.

I open the door to my apartment and  there’s a tea party going on.  My roommate Hannah notices me coming in and promptly informs me I will be unable to sit as every chair in the apartment is crowded around the coloring table. Well what’s a girl to do? Put her wet stuff down and pick up some crayons, that’s what!



I made ariel blonde! It was fun, I colored for and hour, hour and a half, give or take.  Once all the girls had gone i decided it was aptly time to start studying.

I compiled all my notes and all the quizzes and study guides into a condensed 11 page  study guide! It took me until 1:30 to finish it and I totally didn’t get distracted at all by my friend Matt Bryan when he came to study with me.  Well, I go to sleep sunday morning and wake up around 10:30 ish?
but we’ve gotten to sunday!

SUNDAY:

So, 10:30, yeah, too late to be going to 11:00 mass so I decide to go to the Snoozers, Boozers, Losers mass at 7 . . . forgetting there’s a night sky review session then. FFFFFFFFUUUUUUUU-

Well I start studying for History.  Luckily all I have to do is refresh myself with the terms because once I remember exactly what Plessy vs Fergeson was about all the rest of the affiliated info came flowing into my head.  This is why I strive for perfect attendance and take anal notes during class.  If I remember it al then and work hard every day studying is a breeze. Unfortunately it still takes time.  And I totally didn’t watch 2 movies at the same time and distract myself with some cheesy bean and corn pasta. (just imagine Winnie the Poo with his honey here)

Now maybe it was a gut reaction to using 11 pages for the astronomy review but I squeezed my entire history review on one page. See? Just-don’t.  I have no idea why it made sense to me to do this. (just ignore the crappy drawing.  it looks a lot better if you lay on the ground and look at it from an angle)

 

around 5 in the afternoon I finish up this list and laydown to relax for a moment.  Alright, relaxing time done.  Time to get ready for mass! Shower, makeup (oh no, running out of eyeliner! time to find a girlfriend who wants to go out shopping!), hair, humidity, clothes, shoes! Well I make it there only to find my friend who normally goes to mass at 9:15 is doing snoozers boozers with me! I have a mass friend today! Lovely~
I skip the liquid nitrogen ice cream social due to MASSIVE lines.  It’s kind of pathetic the number of people who sit by the exit so they can book it out for ice cream every sunday.  Always reminds me about what father said the other sunday about how Catholics love to eat. But it’s true.  Almost every church I’ve gone to has doughnuts after mass for everyone to congregate around and talk and then everyone I know either has or goes to brunch afterwards without fail. (waiting for the sausages to cook sunday morning is torture when you’re starving because you’ve fasted an hour before mass already! MAn cannot live on a cup of tea alone!).  That’s probably why we have so many times to fast.


Interesting fact.  Spaniards tried to get the pope to declare the capybara fish so they could eat it on Fridays way back when.  This made me laugh so much when I heard it.  Some men are just desperate for meat.

Well to get to my title, I decided to conclude the night with this movie called “The Roommate”.  I had no idea what I was getting into.  The freaky psycho roommate killed the cute little kitten! I couldn’t watch! I had to skip ahead! That night no one seemed to come home.  3 roommates and no one was home.  I went to bed at 1! you’d think someone would be in the apt somewhere on a sunday night at 1, but no.  This always happens to me that when I watch something scary my roommate is gone. Last semester it was when I re-watched  season 1 of supernatural (yeah I’m a coward) and freshmen year I was in my mirror clad dorm room after watching something about bloody mary.  This luck of mine sucks.

Leave a Reply

