laurenslatest’s Hasselback Garlic Cheesy Bread


Does this picture not just make you salivate even if you’re not hungry?

Saturday morning I wake up with the full intention of  doing some paper mache but it’s too cold out so I make bread instead.  I’d had my eye on Hasselback Garlic Cheesy Bread for a while now and decided it’d a perfect morning to try it!

Honestly, I haven’t had much luck with yeast so I wasn’t expecting it to work but it did, and quite well.  Thus, I have no pictures.  (It was gobbled up quite quickly)

I made a few changes that turned out very nicely too.

1. I couldn’t get all the flour in the recipe into my dough.  It calls for 3 cups I think I only put about 2 1/4-1/2.
2. It was all hand done, since I have come to dislike electric kitchen appliances and tools so nothing was done with a beater. I kneaded my dough myself, but since I don’t quite know how bakers do it I did it like a ceramicist. So I guess my dough was wedged, if that really makes a difference.
3. I didn’t have garlic butter or a mixer so I minced about half a clove and used two knives to whip it into about 3/4 cup of stick butter. Then I set the metal bowl on the pre-heating oven and it was melted by the time I needed it.  Since it had cloves I used a basting brush and a spoon to make sure I got some minced garlic in all the slits. I also made sure there was minced garlic on the top which browned and was a flavorful crunch.
4. I used Sharp Cheddar which added a nice kick and then ate it with hot sauce. mmmm, tapatios <3

I’m definitely going to try making this again and maybe I’ll be able to have it for longer than a single day too. In my defense I shared it with 5 girls though and totally didn’t eat the largest quantity myself. >____>

My goal next time I make it: Aesthetics.  I need to improve how I twist the bread and get the cheese on there better.  Investing in a bread knife might help too.
I’m thinking this one would be fun, I already have a few similar ones in paring and chef’s so it would match up lovely~

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

